Acromegaly Clinical Research Fellowship Award

This award assists future endocrinologists in conducting endocrine research in Acromegaly. Recipients receive a stipend, one-year complimentary membership in the Endocrine Society and complimentary online access to four Society journals for one year.

Supported by Pfizer, Inc.

Application Period: September 20 - November 15, 2018

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must meet the following requirements at the time of application:

  • Must be an MD, MD/PhD, or DO degree (or equivalent clinical care certification)
  • Must be enrolled in the first through third year of training in a U.S. adult or pediatric clinical endocrinology program or
  • Has completed a U.S. adult or pediatric endocrinology training program and are now proposing to do a research fellowship in a U.S. training program.
  • Only one application may be submitted by a mentor
  • The mentor from the previous year’s recipient is not eligible to sponsor an application.

Application Requirements

The following items must be received to constitute a complete application:

  • Completed online form (when open).
  • Curriculum Vitae, including publications, mailing address and email address
  • Scientific Abstract (350 maximum)
  • Lay Abstract
  • Research Plan (5 pages maximum) addressing:
    • Specific Aims
    • Background and significance
    • Experimental design
  • Career Development Plan, developed with mentor (paragraph form, 1 page maximum)
    • Summary of career goals
    • Applicant’s plan to achieve those goals during award period and beyond

Institutions must submit the following:

  • Institutional Review Board (IRB) Statement indicating status of approval for applicant’s research proposal.
  • Statement from Section Head or Department Chair indicating applicant will be able to devote 75% FTE toward goals of proposed research
  • Statement of Other Funding Support (1 page maximum statement from mentor disclosing any other funds supporting the applicant’s research project)