Maintenance of Certification (MOC)

Meeting Requirements, One Part at a Time

MOC requirements were developed by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) and implemented by all ABMS member boards, including the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM). MOC program requires completion of four components to obtain and maintain certification with your certifying board.

Part 1: Maintain your state license.

Visit the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) to learn more about your state’s licensure requirements.

Part 2: Assess your knowledge.

Use the Society’s curriculum-wide self-assessment programs to earn points as you determine your clinical knowledge needs.

Part 3: Sit for the exam.

Let the Society help you prepare with its board preparation courses.

Part 4: Assess your performance.

Use a variety of quality projects to improve your practice. PIMs are offered free to Endocrine Society members. Certified by ABP? Assess your patient care using the Congenital Hypothyroidism PIM, free to members of ES and PES.

Certified by ABIM? Requirements changed in January 2014 and the ABIM announced further changes in February 2015 and in December 2015. To learn more about how these changes affect you, visit the ABIM’s FAQs and watch the MOC Update Session from ENDO.

The Society continues to advocate on your behalf with the ABIM; learn more about how the Society is affecting change.