The Endocrine Society offers Summer Research Fellowships to encourage promising undergraduate students, medical students, and first year graduate school students to pursue careers in endocrinology. The Society provides a stipend to each award recipient to participate in research projects under the guidance of a Society member for 8 to 12 weeks during the summer.

After the summer fellowship, recipients are invited to attend ENDO, the Society's Annual Meeting & Expo and will receive complimentary registration, airfare and lodging, and per diem for the duration of the meeting. Previous recipients of the Summer Research Fellowship can apply for the Excellence in Research award to continue their research training and career development.

Supported by the Endocrine Society

Eligibility Criteria

Student applicants must meet the following requirements at the time of application:

  • Currently enrolled in school full-time and may not be employed as a research assistant.
  • Academic level must fall into one of the following categories:
    • All undergraduate students currently enrolled in a four year institution
    • Graduate students in their first year (began graduate school Fall 2018)
    • Medical students who are beyond their first year of schooling

Mentors must meet the following requirements at the time of application:

  • Must be active members in the Endocrine Society.
  • Only one application per mentor may be submitted.
  • Mentors who won a fellowship in 2018 are ineligible to sponsor an application.

Application Requirements

The following items must be received to constitute a complete application:

  • Completed online application form submitted by the student
  • Summary of research project, jointly prepared by Mentor and Student (1 page)
  • Mentor statement which includes:
    • Mentor’s role in the research project including his/her plans for training
    • Student’s role in the research project
    • Student’s qualifications
  • Student statement explaining why he/she chose Mentor’s lab and project (Please indicate your anticipated start and end date for your summer research) 
  • Mentor’s biosketch (NIH Style; 5 page maximum)
  • Transcripts from all advanced academic institutions in which student has been enrolled. Transcripts do not need to be official. All transcripts must be submitted in English.
  • Student’s CV or resume (mailing address must be included)
  • Disclosure of funding statements

NOTE: All supporting documents must be submitted as one PDF or Word file at the time of submitting the application.

Please contact us at

Fellowship Recipients


Recipient Institution
Anna MeyerUniversity of Pittsburgh
Bjoern KluweThe Ohio State University
Bryan NaelitzCleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine
Chris YatesBrigham Young University - Idaho
Claire HouchenGeorge Washington University Med Center
Delaney GeitgeyEdison Biotechnology Institute
Iad AlhallakUniversity of Arkansas
Joseph CesareUniversity of Wisconsin
Joseph CiarelliUniversity of Michigan
Kosuke InoueUCLA
Lindsey DudleyUniversity of Michigan
Maura ConnortonSt. John Fisher College
Melody SalehzadehUniversity of British Columbia
Mikoto KobayashiGrinnell College
Tulasi TalluriMichigan State University


Recipient Institution
Andy TranUniversity of Toronto
Apoorva TummalaUniversity of Illinois at Chicago
Aspen JohnstonUniversity of Arizona
Dana JosephYale University
Danielle XieBryn Mawr College
Jesse CochranUniversity of Iowa
Katherine TianUniversity of California, San Diego
Laura CuiUniversity of California, San Diego
Lauren DeSantisUniversity of Michigan
Lillian SauUniversity of California, San Diego
Matthew ColpoOhio University
Meghan KellettUniversity of Colorado
Pavlina ChrysafiAristotle University of Thessaloniki
Samuel ClerUniversity of Illinois
Yuebo YangUniversity of British Columbia


Recipient Institution
Aaliyah RiccardiUniversity of Connecticut Health Center
Ashley PattonOhio University Library
Benjamin TookeCase Western Reserve University
Bethany BeeklyGonzaga University
Brandi SmithUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Brandon GeUniversity of Southern California
Charlotte LaPlanteUniversity of Massachusetts Amherst
Claire HoldreithUniversity of Wisconsin Madison
Dana FryerBoston University
Elizabeth GeerlingSouthern Illinois University Carbondale
Emilie BruleMcGill University
Kristina WiggersMcMaster University
Leon YangStony Brook University
Lesley RabagoUniversity of California, Riverside
Madeline NewkirkUniversity of Richmond
Mitra ShokatReed College
Rahil ShahUniversity of Miami
Raud RazzaghiArizona State University
Ricardo VillarrealUniversity of Colorado
Rose SchrottDuke University
Serena BanhUniversity of Aberdeen
Sofia Maestro SanzUniversity of Rochester
Stacy TsaiNorthwestern University
Venkata JonnakutiDrexell University
Victoria AndriessenUniversity of Michigan


Recipient Institution
Elizabeth JensenEdison Biotechnology Institute
Iris SchwartzUniversity of Illinois at Chicago
Luke DudaThe University of Illinois
Meng HaoHarvard Medical School
Ngai Ting ChanUniversity of Wisconsin Madison
Yang LeonStony Brook University


Recipient Institution
Anna ZhangUniversity of California, Berkeley
Crystal TrangUniversity of California, San Diego
Danny TrotierUniversity of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Jad Abi RafehMcGill University
Jasmin AlvesUniversity of Southern California
Kathleen LutchiUniversity of Denver
Matt MonhartSt. Lawrence University
Moustafa AbdallaUniversity of Toronto
Nicholas McCartyUniversity of Iowa
Paula AlibertiUniversity of Buenos Aires
Rebecca ForightUniversity of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Victoria EngUniversity of Michigan
Wenqing YeUniversity of Toronto


Recipient Institution
Alyssa DixonChaminade University of Honolulu
Anthony JunkerChaminade University of Honolulu
Brian SkidmoreBrigham Young University
Carolina MontanezUniversity of Puerto Rico -Cayey Campus
Christopher MarinoThe University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences
Danielle GrossmanHarvard College
David OlshanCornell University
Hanling ChangUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Katie MishallUniversity of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Lisa GreeneUniversity of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Maksim ShlykovUniversity of Michigan Medical School
Samantha SpierlingUniversity of Michigan
Wen ZhaoUniversity of Toronto


Recipient Institution
Claire LeeUniversity of Toronto
David BacsikNew College of Florida
Jennifer StegerBrown University
Kendra WulczynPerelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Narine WandreyUniversity of Dallas
Nora ChokrAmerican University of Beirut
Paris BarkanJefferson Medical College
Rachel UmansUniversity of Chicago
Ruijun WangUniversity of Glasgow
Sarah ShaabanIndiana University School of Medicine
Sravanthi GuttaUniversity of Michigan School of Public Health
Stephen ArndtTulane University School of Medicine
Taylor WallenUniversity of Michigan
Thomas RogersUniversity of Colorado-Anschutz Medical Campus
Thomas TilstonCardiff University