Press Release

The Endocrine Society Elects Five Members to its Governing Council

February 11, 2014

Chevy Chase, MD––Members of the Endocrine Society have elected five new Officers and Council members to lead the world’s oldest, largest and most active organization devoted to research on hormones and the clinical practice of endocrinology.

The new Officers and Council members are:

  • Lisa Fish, MD: President-Elect
  • Carol Lange, PhD: Vice President, Basic Scientist
  • R. Michael Tuttle, MD: Council Member, Clinical Scientist Seat
  • Brad Anawalt, MD: Council Member, At-Large Seat
  • Genevieve Neal-Perry, MD, PhD: Council Member, At-Large Seat

The new Officers and Council members will begin serving their terms following ENDO 2014, the 96th Annual Meeting & Expo of the Endocrine Society. The meeting will take place in Chicago June 21-24, 2014.

Dr. Fish will serve as President-Elect in 2014-2015 and then serve as President in 2015-2016. She is a faculty member in the Division of Endocrinology and Medical Director of the Diabetes and Endocrinology Clinic at Hennepin County Medical Center in Minneapolis, MN. She also is Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Minnesota Medical Center. An active Society volunteer for more than two decades, she has served as Vice President, Physician-in-Practice, and as a member of the Society’s Council. She served on the Society’s Advocacy and Public Outreach Core Committee and chaired the precursor to the Society’s Hormone Health Network. Dr. Fish has represented the Society in work with organizations such as the U.S. Preventative Services Task Force, the American Medical Association and the American Diabetes Association. She has received numerous honors and awards, including the Society’s Distinguished Physician Award and Sidney H. Ingbar Distinguished Service Award. Fish received her MD from Brown University’s Warren Alpert Medical School.

Dr. Lange will serve a three-year term as Vice President, Basic Scientist (2014-2017). She is Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology at the University of Minnesota. An active Society member for nearly 18 years, she is currently the Editor-in-Chief of the Society’s journal Hormones and Cancer and previously served on the editorial board of Molecular Endocrinology. She has served on the Society’s Laureate Awards, Publications Core, and Annual Meeting Steering Committees. Her awards and honors include the Roy O. Greep Award for Outstanding Contributions to Endocrine Research, the University of Minnesota’s Sara Evans Award for Outstanding Leadership in Science and Engineering, and the University of Minnesota’s Center for Translational Science Institute Mentor of the Year Award. Dr. Lange received her PhD from the University of Colorado.

Dr. Tuttle will serve a three-year term in the Clinical Scientist designated seat on Council. He is an endocrinology attending physician at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York. An active member of the Society for a decade, he was the Clinical Chair for the Annual Meeting Steering Committee and the Scientific and Educational Programs Core Committee. He has served on the editorial board of the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism. In addition, he is an associated editor of Thyroid and a member of the editorial board for the Journal of the National Comprehensive Cancer Centers. His honors include the Society’s Knoll Pharmaceutical Mentor Award and the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center’s Paul Sherlock Teaching Award. Tuttle received his MD from the University of Louisville School of Medicine.

Dr. Anawalt will serve a three-year term as an at-large member of Council. He is Chief of Medicine at the University of Washington Medical Center and Professor and Vice Chair of the University of Washington Department of Medicine. A member of the Society for more than 10 years, he is chair of the Hormone Health Network. He also has served as the Society’s Annual Meeting Clinical Chair and on the Annual Meeting Steering Committee, the Men’s Health Task Force and the Branding Task Force. He is a member of the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism’s editorial board. In addition, he is a member of the United States Anti-Doping Agency’s Therapeutics Use Exemption Committee. His honors include the JCEM Outstanding Reviewer Award, the Society and Pfizer, Inc.’s International Award for Excellence in Published Clinical Research in JCEM, and the University of Washington Paul Beeson Award for excellence in teaching. Anawalt received his MD from the University of California, Davis School of Medicine.

Dr. Neal-Perry will serve a three-year term as an at-large member of Council. She is the Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Neuroscience, Division Director of Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, and Clinical Fellowship Program Associate Dean for Diversity Mentoring at Yeshiva University’s Albert Einstein College of Medicine. A Society member for 13 years, she has served on the Basic Research Affairs Core Committee, the Women in Endocrinology Program Committee and the Inter-Committee Planning Group for the Health Disparities Summit. She is an editorial board member for the Society’s journal Endocrinology. Among many honors, she has received the Society’s In-training Mentor Award and Merck Senior Fellow Award. She received her MD and PhD from Rutgers University’s Robert Wood Johnson Medical School.

About Endocrine Society

Endocrinologists are at the core of solving the most pressing health problems of our time, from diabetes and obesity to infertility, bone health, and hormone-related cancers. The Endocrine Society is the world’s oldest and largest organization of scientists devoted to hormone research and physicians who care for people with hormone-related conditions.

The Society has more than 18,000 members, including scientists, physicians, educators, nurses, and students in 122 countries. To learn more about the Society and the field of endocrinology, visit our site at Follow us on Twitter at @TheEndoSociety and @EndoMedia.

Media Contacts

Colleen Williams Senior Communications Manager, Public Relations Phone: (202)-971-3611 [email protected]

Jenni Glenn Gingery Director, Communications and Media Relations Phone: (202)-971-3655 [email protected]

Back to top

Who We Are

For 100 years, the Endocrine Society has been at the forefront of hormone science and public health. Read about our history and how we continue to serve the endocrine community.