Press Release

Endocrine Society Congratulates 2019 Early Investigators Award Winners

Washington, DC May 08, 2019

The Endocrine Society has selected five recipients for its Early Investigators Awards.

The Early Investigators Awards were established to assist in the development of early career investigators and to provide greater recognition of their accomplishments in endocrine-related research.

“One of the biggest challenges endocrine fellows and junior faculty face is gaining recognition and obtaining access to the resources they need for professional development,” said Society President E. Dale Abel, M.D., Ph.D. “The Early Investigator Awards are just one of the many ways the Society values and supports our early career professionals and their research to prepare them to lead in their institutions and the field at large.”

The Endocrine Society’s 2019 Early Investigators Award winners are:

  • Caroline Gorvin, Ph.D., of the University of Birmingham in the United Kingdom. Her research investigates signaling (Non-steroid hormone signaling), neuroendocrinology, and bone health.
  • Joanna Spencer-Segal, M.D., Ph.D., of the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. Her work focuses on adrenal health, neuroendocrinology, steroid hormone and receptors, and diabetes.
  • Mary Ellen Vajravelu, M.D., of Children's Hospital of Philadelphia in Pennsylvania. Her research focuses on diabetes and pediatric endocrinology.
  • Monica Laronda, Ph.D., of the Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago in Illinois. Her research area is reproductive health and genetics.
  • Subhamoy Dasgupta, Ph.D., of Roswell Park Cancer Institute in Buffalo, N.Y. His research focuses on endocrine cancer and neoplasia, diabetes, lipids, steroid hormones and receptors, and signaling.

Recipients received a monetary award, one-year complimentary membership to the Society, one-year complimentary access to the Society's online journals, public recognition of research accomplishments in various Society platforms, and an invitation to attend the Excellence in Endocrinology event at ENDO 2019 in New Orleans, La.

Additional information on this award and the recipients is located on the Society’s website at

The new application cycle opens in September 2019.


About Endocrine Society

Endocrinologists are at the core of solving the most pressing health problems of our time, from diabetes and obesity to infertility, bone health, and hormone-related cancers. The Endocrine Society is the world’s oldest and largest organization of scientists devoted to hormone research and physicians who care for people with hormone-related conditions.

The Society has more than 18,000 members, including scientists, physicians, educators, nurses, and students in 122 countries. To learn more about the Society and the field of endocrinology, visit our site at Follow us on X (formerly Twitter) at @TheEndoSociety and @EndoMedia.

Media Contacts

Colleen Williams Senior Communications Manager, Public Relations Phone: (202)-971-3611 [email protected]

Jenni Glenn Gingery Director, Communications and Media Relations Phone: (202)-971-3655 [email protected]

Back to top

Who We Are

For 100 years, the Endocrine Society has been at the forefront of hormone science and public health. Read about our history and how we continue to serve the endocrine community.