FLARE Program | Internship Path | Mentorship Path | Application | Alumni

FLARE 2020

FLARE Program Alumni

Launched in 2013, the Future Leaders Advancing Research in Endocrinology (FLARE) program has quickly grown into a vibrant and active program for fellows and alumni. The program works to empower promising senior graduate students, postdocs, clinical fellows, and junior faculty from underrepresented minority groups to establish independent research careers through leadership skills training.

Beyond participating in the FLARE Workshop, Internship, and Mentorship activities, FLARE fellows are invited to attend ENDO, the Society’s Annual Meeting & Expo, where they engage in additional leadership opportunities and further connections at specific events designed for alumni of the program. Since the program's launch, FLARE has been successful in training over 100 FLARE fellows throughout the United States.

FLARE Video Challenge

Do you love FLARE and want others to benefit from this great program? Then we need your help!

Get creative and share why you love FLARE in a fun, 1-2-minute video and upload it here. The three videos with the most votes (and use of creativity) will win a prize!
Longer videos may be disqualified from the contest.

Video Entries Must Include:

  • Who are you? What is your relationship to the FLARE program? (Are you an alumnus or faculty member?)
  • What is the FLARE program (in your own words)?
  • Why do you love FLARE and why do you think others should apply?
  • A link to the FLARE web page, endocrine.org/FLARE.

Video submissions will be accepted from July 22- August 12, 2019. Entries may be submitted by individuals or teams with up to three members. Only one entry accepted per person.

How to Vote:

Voting will be open August 13-August 30, 2019. Videos will be uploaded to the Endocrine Society YouTube page where you can vote for your favorite video. Winners will be chosen based on the quality and creativity of the video along with the number of votes received (via YouTube polls). Be sure to share the link to your video using #FLARE2020!

Three videos will be chosen and each participant will be awarded $100 in EndoCash that can be used for any Endocrine Society purchase (e.g. ENDO 2020 registration, membership, or merchandise at the Endocrine Society Store).

The winners will be announced early September. Follow @TheEndoSociety on Twitter for continued information and updates. Submit your video today!

FLARE Classes

2019 Class

Margaret Bell, Leanne Burnham, Jose Casasnovas, Trisha Cubb, Brenda Dorcely, Ifechukwude Ebenuwa, Estelle Everett, Valene Garr, Janiece Glover, Cristal Hill, Sudeh Izadmehr, Kai Jones, Marissa Lightbourne, Sharifa Love-Rutledge, Vitor Martins, Tiffany Miles, Natalie Mora, Sando Ojukwu, Brittany Rice, Tiffany Richardson, Ashlie Santaliz Casiano, Carlos Santos-Perez, Kristen Turner, Kenilia Ventura

FLARE Class of 2019

2018 Class

Katherine Araque, Stephanie Barrow, Luis Chavez, Lediya Cheru, Irina Delgado Varela, Diana Elizondo, Taneisha Gillyard, Marimar Hernandez-Perez, Andrew Lapelusa, Camille McLean, Shanna Newton, Jean Pujals Kury, Daniel Ruiz, Brandi Smith, Daniel Tobiansky, Ron Varghese, Alina West, Aurellia Whitmore, Sade Williams

FLARE Class of 2018

2017 Class

Alexandra Acevedo-Rodriguez, Diana Alba, Anika Anam, Maigen Bethea, Justin Echouffo Tcheugui, Betiel Fesseha, Inga Harbuz-Miller, Angelina Hernandez, Allison LaRoche, Jean Marie Mwiza, Victoria Parker, Melissa Rodriguez, Keisha Smith, Chinenye Usoh, Desiree Williford, Aurelia Wood

2017 Class

2016 Class

Isaac Asare Bediako, Victoria Balise, Crystal Bolden, James Campbell, A'ja Duncan, Ifechukwude Ebenuwa, Whitney Edwards, Jorge Espinoza-Derout, Farhad Hasan, Alexa Hendricks, Sina Jasim, Zaid Mohsen, Anila Mustafa, Ashley Orillion, Erica Pandolfi, Camille Powe, Henry Ruiz, Mabel Toribio, Hugo Villanueva

2016 Class

2015 Class

Ana Abaroa Salvatierra, Jose Aleman, Stanley Andrisse, Christian Argueta, Ricardo Correa, Alexandra Garcia, Antentor Hinton, Joshua Joseph, Milay Luis Lam, Brooke McAdams, Ijeoma Muo, Ariel Negron, Pedro Pagan Banchs, Ruben Rodriguez, Gianina Usera, Licy Yanes Cardozo

2015 Class

2014 Class

Michael Burton, Diana Cruz Topete, Jaydira Del Rivero, Hector Franco, Rodolfo Galindo, Amanda Garza, Taryn James, Carolina Jorgez, Nadir Khir, Darwin Larco, Ekaette Mbong, Alina Montalbano, Michael Reilly, Glenn Rowe, Lucia Tejada, Michelle Trevino, Marcella Vargus Trujillo, Amarylis Velez-Perez, Chesinta Voma, Bryan Wilson

2014 Class

2013 Class

Irene Aninye, Diana Cittelly, Geraldine Ekpo, Latrice Faulkner, Christina Garlington, Mariana Haedo, Courtney Law, Mario Oyola, Michelle Rivera-Vega, Isabel Rubio Schlaepfer, Tanya Russell, Carmen Soto-Rivera, Rhonda Souvenir, Lindsey Trevino

2013 Class