Press Release

Endocrine Society Congratulates Early Investigators Award Winners

Washington, DC August 21, 2018

The Endocrine Society has selected five new recipients for its Early Investigators Awards.

The Early Investigators Awards were established to recognize the achievements of early career investigators in endocrine research.

The Endocrine Society’s 2018 Early Investigators Award winners are:

  • Jose Cordoba-Chacon, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, Ill.
  • Krystle Frahm, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pa.
  • Aaron Leong, M.D., Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Mass.
  • Jarrad Scarlett, M.D., Ph.D., University of Washington, Seattle, Wash.
  • Matthew Sikora, Ph.D., University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, Aurora, Colo.

Recipients received a monetary award, one-year complimentary membership to the Society, one-year complimentary access to the Society's online journals, and public recognition of research accomplishments in various Society platforms.

Additional information on this award and the recipients is located on the Society’s website at The new application cycle opens in September.

About Endocrine Society

Endocrinologists are at the core of solving the most pressing health problems of our time, from diabetes and obesity to infertility, bone health, and hormone-related cancers. The Endocrine Society is the world’s oldest and largest organization of scientists devoted to hormone research and physicians who care for people with hormone-related conditions.

The Society has more than 18,000 members, including scientists, physicians, educators, nurses, and students in 122 countries. To learn more about the Society and the field of endocrinology, visit our site at Follow us on X (formerly Twitter) at @TheEndoSociety and @EndoMedia.

Media Contacts

Colleen Williams Senior Communications Manager, Public Relations Phone: (202)-971-3611 [email protected]

Jenni Glenn Gingery Director, Communications and Media Relations Phone: (202)-971-3655 [email protected]

Back to top

Who We Are

For 100 years, the Endocrine Society has been at the forefront of hormone science and public health. Read about our history and how we continue to serve the endocrine community.