Press Release

Endocrine Society elects Kaiser as 2022-2023 president

Washington, DC December 22, 2020

Four endocrinologists to join Board of Directors

Endocrine Society members have elected Ursula B. Kaiser, M.D., to serve as the organization’s President for the 2022-2023 term.

Kaiser is Chief, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Hypertension and George W. Thorn, M.D. Distinguished Chair in Endocrinology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, and Director of the Brigham Research Institute in Boston, Mass. She will serve as President-Elect for a year beginning in March 2021 before becoming President in June 2022.

Kaiser’s research and clinical work focuses on neuroendocrinology and reproductive endocrinology. She is a past Vice President of the Endocrine Society and is currently Deputy Editor-in-Chief of The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism. She’s held many roles with the Endocrine Society and was selected to receive the 2021 Sidney H. Ingbar Award for Distinguished Service for her contributions to the Society and the field at large.

The Society also selected four members to join its Board of Directors beginning in March 2021. The new Board members are:

  • Jeffrey B. Boord, M.D., M.P.H. – Executive Committee, Secretary Treasurer-Elect
  • Arthur Gutierrez-Hartmann, M.D. – Board at Large
  • Rocio Pereira, M.D. – Board at Large
  • Carolyn L. Smith, Ph.D. – Board at Large

The new Board members will begin serving their three-year terms following ENDO 2021. The Society’s annual meeting will take place from March 20-23, 2021 in a state-of-the-art digital platform.

Dr. Boord is the Chief Quality and Safety Officer for Parkview Health, a community not-for-profit health system based in Fort Wayne, Ind. He is also a practicing clinical endocrinologist with expertise in diabetes, lipid disorders and cardiometabolic medicine, and is a Volunteer Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine at the Indiana University School of Medicine-Fort Wayne. He currently serves as Chair of the Endocrine Society’s Hypoglycemia Prevention Initiative Steering Committee and as a member of the Society’s Innovative Models of Care in Diabetes Task Force.

Dr. Gutierrez-Hartmann retired from the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus in Aurora, Colo. in August 2020 where he was the Associate Dean for Research Education in the School of Medicine, the Director of the Medical Scientist Training Program for 26 years, the founding Director of the Physician Scientist Residency Training Program, and a Professor in the Departments of Medicine and of Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics. He has served on numerous Endocrine Society committees and task forces and as an Associate Editor of Molecular Endocrinology, a Society journal that merged with Endocrinology in 2016.

Dr. Pereira is the Chief of Endocrinology at Denver Health in Colorado and Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism, and Diabetes in Aurora, Colo. She also leads the Denver Health Diabetes QI Committee and is the Founder/Director of a community-based lifestyle intervention program for Latino immigrants. Pereira’s work is focused on addressing health disparities in diabetes and obesity-related diseases. She is a former Chair of the Society’s Committee on Diversity and Inclusion and a current member of the Trainee and Career Development Committee.

Dr. Smith is Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology, and Urology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. She is also the Dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. Her research interests focus on the molecular pharmacology of estrogen receptors, regulation of gene expression by transcriptional coactivators and corepressors, tamoxifen resistance in breast cancer, and steroid hormone action in urothelial carcinomas. Smith has served on many Endocrine Society task forces and committees, including as Basic Science Chair of the Annual Meeting Steering Committee and then overall Chair in 2020, and as the Society’s representative to the FASEB Science Research Conferences Advisory Committee.

About Endocrine Society

Endocrinologists are at the core of solving the most pressing health problems of our time, from diabetes and obesity to infertility, bone health, and hormone-related cancers. The Endocrine Society is the world’s oldest and largest organization of scientists devoted to hormone research and physicians who care for people with hormone-related conditions.

The Society has more than 18,000 members, including scientists, physicians, educators, nurses, and students in 122 countries. To learn more about the Society and the field of endocrinology, visit our site at Follow us on X (formerly Twitter) at @TheEndoSociety and @EndoMedia.

Media Contacts

Colleen Williams Senior Communications Manager, Public Relations Phone: (202)-971-3611 [email protected]

Jenni Glenn Gingery Director, Communications and Media Relations Phone: (202)-971-3655 [email protected]

All News & Advocacy

Hill Event

Endocrine News Podcast

The Endocrine News podcast brings you the latest research and clinical advances from experts in the field, whether you are in your car, office, or out for a run.

The Endocrine News podcast brings you the latest research and clinical advances from experts in the field, whether you are in your car, office, or out for a run.

Bench to Bedside

Endocrine Society Journals

Our top-ranked peer-reviewed journals are among the first to publish major developments and discovery milestones.

Our top-ranked peer-reviewed journals are among the first to publish major developments and discovery milestones.

Back to top

Who We Are

For 100 years, the Endocrine Society has been at the forefront of hormone science and public health. Read about our history and how we continue to serve the endocrine community.