Excellence in Clinical Endocrinology Leadership

Physician leadership is the future of healthcare. The Excellence in Clinical Endocrinology Leadership (ExCEL) program offers comprehensive leadership training and mentorship to early career physicians of communities underrepresented in medicine and science. Whether you are just beginning as an endocrine fellow or navigating the next steps in your career beyond fellowship, the ExCEL program will help you build leadership skills, explore opportunities for advancement, and expand your network of peers and colleagues. 


Application Period: November 2 – December 10, 2021

ExCEL Program Components

Leadership Skills Building: Education and Training Workshop. ExCEL awardees will participate in developing key leadership competencies and management training through a 2 ½ day Clinical Endocrine Career and Leadership Workshop. The ExCEL workshop will be held April 7 - 9, 2022 in Washington, DC.

Building Partnerships and Expanding Networks: We will offer ExCEL awardees a structured year-round virtual mentoring course to guide fellows’ long-term success as endocrine physicians. The mentoring network will connect fellows with a core team of mentors, provide quarterly virtual check-ins, and deliver continued training through seminars intended to continue skills development and community building. 

Leadership Skills in Practice: Service and Community Outreach. We will assist ExCEL awardees in enhancing their professional credentials through opportunities to volunteer within the Endocrine Society, travel awards to attend and network at the annual meeting, ENDO, and enhance speaking abilities and near-peer mentoring through a Visiting Physician Faculty series.  

Learn more about the eligibility and application requirements. For questions, contact us at [email protected].


Last Updated:
Back to top
Short on time?

We'll come to you...

Get updates on the latest breakthroughs, clinical practice guidelines, and career development opportunities, straight to your inbox

Then take the next step: Set up your free website account and get exclusive access to even more great tools & content!