Professional Development Awards

Future Leaders Advancing Research in Endocrinology

September 18, 2023

The Future Leaders Advancing Research in Endocrinology (FLARE) program provides structured leadership development and in-depth, hands-on training in topics ranging from grantsmanship to lab management. Basic science, clinical research trainees, and junior faculty from underrecognized minoritized communities who have demonstrated achievement in endocrine research are all invited to apply to FLARE. This program is sponsored by a grant from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.

2024 FLARE applications period has now closed.

Endocrine Society Policy and Procedures for Financial Conflicts of Interest in Sponsored Research  

Hear from FLARE Fellow on Need to Support NIH Funding 


Shooting Stars: How the FLARE Program is Changing the Face of Endocrinology


The FLARE Program Components

Workshop: All selected participants will attend the in-person FLARE workshop that teaches the “business of research” and the skills needed to establish themselves as independent researchers. Participants can choose to continue down the Internship Path or the Mentorship Path.

  • Internship Path: Participants can serve on an Endocrine Society committee and have the opportunity to mentor students at other Society events. 
  • Mentorship Path: Participants connect to accomplished biomedical and clinical scientists as mentors and visit their mentor in-person.

ENDO Travel Award: Participants will have the opportunity to apply for a travel award to attend ENDO, the Society's Annual Meeting and Expo. To qualify for this award, you must submit an abstract through the ENDO submission site.

Eligibility and Application

Eligible FLARE Program applicants are:

  • Preference is given to members of the Endocrine Society but not required to attend the workshop. To move forward in other components of the program, membership is required. Join Now.
  • Currently enrolled in a US graduate program, post-doctoral fellowship, an endocrine clinical fellowship, or junior faculty (within 1-3 years of obtaining faculty position).
  • Of an ethnic minoritized group underrecognized in the biomedical sciences (African American, Hispanic American, American Indian or Native American, Alaska Native, and Natives of the US Pacific Islands)
  • US citizen or US permanent resident

Mentorship Path applicants are encouraged to begin searching for a mentor before the application period begins. Please see the Eligibility & Application page for a full list of requirements.

For More Information

To learn more about the FLARE Program, contact us at 202.971.3684 or email [email protected].

FLARE Recipients

Recipient Institution
Rhonda-Kaye Trusty, MD  
Charlita Worthy, MD, MPH  
Zena Del Mundo, BS  University of California, Irvine
Ivana Kennedy Parker, PhD University of Florida
Claude Fitzgerald Albritton II, BS    Meharry Medical College
Sydney Jamison, BS Meharry Medical College
Naveena Ujagar, BS University of California, Irvine
Khulood Bukhari, MBBS  National Institute on Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases
Kiara Dominique Wiggins, BS University of California, Irvine
Corina Nava Suarez, MD Albert Einstein Healthcare Network
Gabriela De Robles, MS University of California, Irvine
Jacqueline Maya, MD Massachusetts General Hospital
Theophilus Tettey, PhD National Institutes of Health - NCI-CCR
Mark Anthony Jara, MD    University of Miami
Ana Menendez, MD University of Connecticut 
Janielle Cuala, BS  University of Southern California
Natalia Chamorro-Pareja, MD
 Massachusetts General Hospital
Ebony Hargrove-Wiley, BS 
 Vanderbilt University
Giuliana Arevalo, MD  University of Miami
Kimia Saleh Anaraki, MD  University of Maryland Medical System Center
Maryam Kazemi, PhD  Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Recipient  Institution
Colwyn A. Headley, PhD Stanford University 
Damonie Salmon Eastern Virginia Medical College 
Zer Vue, PhD Vanderbilt University 
Logan Alexander Northcutt, BS Vanderbilt University 
Darian Thomas Carroll, BS Vanderbilt University 
Claudia Ramirez, MD Baylor College of Medicine 
Steven Elliott Hobbs, MS University of Illinois
Maria Victoria Salguero Bermonth, MD, MSc University of Chicago
Regine Boutin, MD Massachusetts General Hospital
Yetunde Bernice Omotosho, MD National Institute on Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases
Natasha Ivelisse Roman Ortiz, BS University of Minnesota
Hannah Heath University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
Dominique Stephens, PhD Fisk and Vanderbilt University 
Zohyra E. Zabala, MD Emory University
Jade E. Stanley, BS Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Briana Noel Cortez, BS University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine

Recipient  Institution
Diana Varghese  
Sade Williams Clayton Washington University School of Medical
Bobak Moazzami Emory University School of Medical
Heather Beasley Vanderbilt University
Elizabeth Sanchez Rangel   Yale University
Greisha Ortiz Hernandez  City of Hope National Medical Center
Jazma Tapia  City of Hope National Medical Center
Carolina Gonzalez Lopez Yale University
Kimia Saleh Anaraki  National Institutes of Health
Mopelola Adeyemo  University of California, Los Angeles
Tiffany Fleet  University Pennsylvania Hospital 
Sylvia Robinson  Rush University Medical Center
Samuel Cortez  St. Louis Children's Hospital
Carlos Díaz-Balzac  University of Rochester Medical Center 

Hear from FLARE alumni about their experience in the program!


Last Updated:

Become a Member

Join our endocrine community and become a member! Only members receive access to a variety of member benefits that will enhance your career. If your membership has lapsed, rejoin today so that you can continue to receive your membership benefits.

Join our endocrine community and become a member! Only members receive access to a variety of member benefits that will enhance your career. If your membership has lapsed, rejoin today so that you can continue to receive your membership benefits.

Back to top

Who We Are

For 100 years, the Endocrine Society has been at the forefront of hormone science and public health. Read about our history and how we continue to serve the endocrine community.